Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

SHO Heart nebula, am I taking it too far?

assouptro

I have a question regarding this image 

I have always been a fan of understated quality images, ones that don’t make your eyes hurt with saturation and contrast, however, the internet seems to prefer these?

I have been imaging for 20+ years now, I am a slow learner, tend to stick with what I know for a long time before trying something radically different

Recently though, I have adopted Nina and automated things like plate solving, autofocus and filter changes party down to the help and information freely available from sites like this and it has been a revelation! So, I just wanted to say thank you to all the helpful stargazers out there that contribute to the community! 

now I can achieve a dataset of all filters in a session, I can even switch targets whilst I sleep! 

As a result of this, I have acquired more useable data and I have been delving deeper into the amazing features available in Pixinsight (although I haven’t even scratched the surface) 

Anyway, I’m completely off topic now, What I really wanted was some advice.

Am I going too far with images like this? 
is it over processed? Too much colour? Should I tone it down and be a bit more subtle? 

I value your opinions and I don’t want to get cornered into a workflow that is detrimental to the original data

Is the purple in there a mistake? 

This is around 15 hours HSO with a bit of RGB for the small amount of stars I’ve left in 

Thanks for looking and please don’t hold back if it offends your eyes, let me know 

CC5B9687-EA09-4A45-A513-79A6AD63B6B0.thumb.jpeg.3bd97a82306535728ba3abe5e17886a4.jpeg

Thanks 

Bryan 😊

• Like 10

I tend to agree with you and am also a bit slow to learn and change with the times, I also like understated  images too and not much for heavily processed and over saturated colours, I like to see the more natural look, if there is such a think for images like these.