Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

In betweener

Hi all

I currently have a sw72ed and a 10' dob. seems like a nice complimentary pair. Visual only. Low tech mounts

I'm looking to start searching for my next scope. I have acquisition fever. My immediate reaction is a 5 inch apo/achro or a 6/8" mak/cass but as I'm relatively new to this game I'm not sure what would be a better fit. Anything up to Takahashi prices would work, although I assume that for visual I don't need perfect optics.

Any recommendations would be much appreciated.

23 minutes ago, jetstream said:

The TSA120 is a nice scope.

A very nice scope. Does it being a triplet help visually? I'm not too concerned about weight, I have the 72ed for that, just wondering if the difference between a doublet and a triplet is apparent?

20 minutes ago, Kobayashi Maru said:

A very nice scope. Does it being a triplet help visually? I'm not too concerned about weight, I have the 72ed for that, just wondering if the difference between a doublet and a triplet is apparent?

It can be... depending on the optics.

The very highly regarded Tak 100mm doublets are excellent visual telescopes, however some other doublets might not fare too well and be subject to sample to sample variation IMHO. Mind you its possible to get a "good one" . Maybe most are good, I dont know.

I do know that when you buy a Tak what I see in mine you will see in yours. My TSA120 is a superb telescope, my SW120ED doublet average. My older 90mm Stellarvue triplet is a vg scope but not in Tak territory contrast wise on the moon and planets.

Its said that refractors by nature are small telescopes, always will be small telescopes, regardless of aperture so it makes sense to buy the best you can afford.

If I had a choice in refractors and could spend on a 120mm triplet or get a 100mm Tak doublet for the same price, Id go for the Tak doublet.

Gerry

• Like 1

1 hour ago, jetstream said:

It can be... depending on the optics.