SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi, I'm new to this whole auto guiding thing so bare with me!

So I have a iOptron SkyGuider Pro with a WO Zenithstar 61 and recently bought a ZWO ASI120MM Mini and guide scope to have a go at auto guiding. I followed tutorials online step by step (installing drivers, and changing the settings in PHD etc.) and managed to connect the camera and mount in PHD, start looping exposures and select a star. But when I start the calibration, it counts to 'west step 61' and comes up with "RA Calibration Failed: star did not move enough"

I have tried reinstalling all drivers/software, using a different laptop and solutions other people have found do not help. Guide scope is focused and it's not trying to track a hot pixel.

The star is supposed to move up and down as the mount moves during the calibration although nothing happens. So this makes me think there is something wrong with the mount or the ST4 cable from the camera to the mount. Cable securely clicks into both ends. I have heard the term "backlash" with mounts and not sure if this could be the cause? Not sure what this means or if this is possible with a star tracker?

I can't seem to manually control the mount in PHD although I'm not sure what I'm doing. I can however, manually press the buttons on the mount itself and it moves fine.

I've attached pictures of my setup along with the 'Guide Log' that people often ask for - PHD2_GuideLog_2021-08-23_225305.txt

(Also, the total weight on the mount is 4.7kg and the max payload is 5kg for imaging so this should be fine?)

Any Ideas? Let me know if you guys need anything else.

Thanks,

Dean

Setup:

iOptron Skyguider Pro

WO Zenithstar 61 ii

Guide Camera: ZWO ASI120MM Mini

Guide Scope: 32mm F4 (focal length - 125mm)

setup.JPG

setup_3.JPG

Hi Dean

You are ST-4 guiding, which means a lot of important settings don't show in the Log.

For instance, what Dec were you Calibrating at ?