Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Seeking HEQ5 Pro advice

First post, and hopefully not the equivalent of a 'what's the best oil' on a car forum...

I'm a full time professional photographer but new to astrophotography. I bought a Move-Shoot-Move rotator to dip my toe in the water but really found it a faff, so didn't use it very much.

I'm looking to buy a good tracking mount that I can use initially with a DSLR for imaging, and with a view to adding a telescope in dues course.

I don't have oodles of cash to spend and after some keyboard research I've settle on the Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro. From the research I've undertaken this looks like a good compromise for me. A capable mount to start with and something I can progress with.

Before I buy one (amazingly it is one of the few/only mounts I can currently find in stock in the UK) I thought I'd ask whether I'm about to make a 'bad' purchase?

TIA.

• Like 1

I've recently bought one second hand mainly for ap but also for visual. Only used it last week for aiming at the moon so not polar aligned but so far I'm really pleased with it. You may want to consider a Rowan belt upgrade before you buy - not essential but check it out! 

1 hour ago, YellowHound said:

it is one of the few/only mounts I can currently find in stock in the UK

Your other option, of course, is to look out for a second hand one from this site.

21 hours ago, YellowHound said:

First post, and hopefully not the equivalent of a 'what's the best oil' on a car forum...

I'm a full time professional photographer but new to astrophotography. I bought a Move-Shoot-Move rotator to dip my toe in the water but really found it a faff, so didn't use it very much.

I'm looking to buy a good tracking mount that I can use initially with a DSLR for imaging, and with a view to adding a telescope in dues course.