Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HEQ5 Strip down guide

Astro_Baby

I'd like any HEQ5 owners opinions on THIS - especially if you have ever rebuilt the mount.

Its the mark 1 version of my strip the HEQ5 to bitz guide as the only other one out there I could find was ozastros one which is good but lacks piccys - me I like pictures of things cos otherwsie I get confuzzled.

I haven't written the worm alignnment element yet as I want to test out something for getting the gears aligned more simply. If anyone has any tips on that then extra great.

There are probably typos and errors galore at the moment - I wanted to get the overall shape of the thing sorted out first which is why there aren't any links to it yet from the AAS technical page.

Mel

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

:laughing3:

Hi Mel,

Looks good to me, very clear pics and good explanations, but I have no experience of stripping these mounts myself.

You mention that the gears showed signs of swarf, did you attempt to clean them up or just leave the burrs on them?

Cheers,

Ian

I think this reads really well and will become a big hit with 5 owners, well done Mel. I've only ever stripped my 5 twice and worm adjustment isn't an altogether easy job, especially the RA adjustment.

I found it a delicate, balancing between meshing the drive gear, manouvering the whole worm casing (with the 3x cap bolts), tightening then loosening until I'm happy AND delicate tuning of the 2x set screws.

Too much and the worm will bind, too loose and there's alot of slop. Sorry I can't be more specific Mel :(

Karlo

Worm meshing is a real swine - the DEC axis is easy enough the RA is a nightmare. I am going to try this procedure in a day or so.

1/ Loosen off the set screws.

2/ Loosen the cap head screws but not too loose.

3/ Drive the mount on its own motors and use them to align the screws - I think there will be enough torque in them to force the worm gear to the right position.