Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DIY Newtonian Cooling Fan - which fan?

AbsolutelyN

I'm looking to add a DIY cooling fan to the back of my 250pds but I'm unsure how powerful the fan needs to be.  

The idea of the fan being USB appeals for simplicity as I'm no electrician. Does anyone know if this would be suitable? 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B06XCTHQG3/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A3EP4QEYMLH6KY&psc=1

Many thanks

I think Maglev fans are good for their low vibration, something like this...

https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/Categories/Products/Fans/Magnetic-Levitation-Fans/ml-pro-config/p/CO-9050040-WW#tab-tech-specs

I'ts 12v not USB, but wiring it to a 12v supply with a speed controller (https://www.amazon.co.uk/GELID-GAMER-system-speed-controller/dp/B002ZO9MVC/ref=sr_1_11?dchild=1&keywords=PWM+fan+speed+controller+12v&qid=1602080220&sr=8-11) is not very difficult, just a pair of wire cutters/strippers and some wire connectors and you're good to go.

You don't actually need a fan that big but my preference is for a large fan run slowly. I keep mine mechanically decoupled from the tube by 2 layers of velcro  (fan is velcroed to the plywood baffle, then baffle is velcroed to the OTA)

• Thanks 1

Another vote for Noctua fans, they are usually very quiet (=smooth), which is what you want for a telescope. I use a 92mm Noctua on my 220mm Newton and it is plenty even at reduced speed. I bet a slower revving 12V Noctua powered directly by a 5V USB supply would work fine. Just attach the red and black cables from the (non-PWM) fan to the plus and ground of the USB cable (USB pin-outs can be found on line). I’ve thought about doing this on my scope and simply power the fan using a small USB power bank attached to the mirror cell. One less cable to trip over.

A little air movement goes a long way:

https://www.fpi-protostar.com/bgreer/fanselect.htm

Thanks for the input here, really appreciated. I like the USB adaptor idea.