Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Light Pollution - View from my garden.

Hello,

I am a newbie and am looking to purchase my first scope in the near future (but that is another thread)

I have taken a few photos of the view from my garden. Would the light pollution be really bad as I dont want to buy a scope only for it to be impossible to use. The orange steet lights are a pain, especially the one overlooking my garage.

The huge tree in the way does not help either.

I know it is difficult to judge just by a few photos but would ask for any comments.

The views are ( From top ) North West - South - North.

Thanks.

Walt

11142_normal.jpeg

(click to enlarge)

11143_normal.jpeg

(click to enlarge)

11144_normal.jpeg

(click to enlarge)

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Walt - welcome to SGL :(

You might find the fainter deep sky objects a bit of a challenge with all those lights about but you should be OK with lunar, planetary, double stars and star clusters. You can take that into account in choosing which scope to get.

I have some similar issues to contend with and I've found that having easily portable scopes help a lot - I can move about the garden to find the best spots !.

John

John

Hi Walt,

Nowadays we almost all have to put up with some form of light pollution, almost nobody seems to escape but with the correct filters you will find that they can improve the view considerably, you may find that by moving around your garden you can block the worst offending lights some way. You don't say wheather you wish to view visually of if imaging is your prime focus.