Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

True North???

I am still very new to this hobby and have run into a situation where my goto is consistently off by 8 to 10 degrees. Is this a problem with not finding true north.  Can I enter a different value to correct for this? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Hello Older Padawan, and welcome to SGL.

If you tell us which type of telescope system you have, perhaps one of our members with the same, or a similar, system could give you a few suggestions. Each system has slightly different requirements to get good initial alignment.

Geoff

4 hours ago, Older Padawan said:

I am still very new to this hobby and have run into a situation where my goto is consistently off by 8 to 10 degrees. Is this a problem with not finding true north.  Can I enter a different value to correct for this? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

When using a magnetic compass you simply add or subtract your local Variation to find true . If you have west variation subtract and add for east. 

Also be aware of Deviation this is where a magnetic compass will be attracted by metal objects electrical interference near to it i.e telescopes and mounts power cables etc.

Magnetic north is continuing east year by year. If you are in the UK its not very much in the SW at the moment. Here is a link to a useful table. I don't think that variation will account for you 8-10 deg maybe 1 or 2 deg (again depending where you are)

https://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/blog/2019/03/magnetic-north-continues-its-march-to-the-east/

Steve

Edited by Steve Clay
  • Like 1

4 minutes ago, Steve Clay said:

When using a magnetic compass you simply add or subtract your local Variation to find true . If you have west variation subtract and add for east. 

Also be aware of Deviation this is where a magnetic compass will be attracted by metal objects electrical interference near to it i.e telescopes and mounts power cables etc.