Narrowband

awful seeing last 2 evenings!? (13th/14th May 19)

wesdon1

Anyone else find the seeing really bad the last couple of nights in uk?? ( 13th/14th May 19 ) I was struggling to get resolution with just 90x mag on my 130/900 newt reflector!?? Or is it my collimation out again! lol (or me not cooling mirror sufficiently, or my lenses, or my....haha you get the picture! I'm a newbie who is still learning! )

• Like 1

my goodness i think i might have just worked out the answer to my own question...It's been really warm, so it could be thermal currents rising from land during the evening as it cools ???

• Like 2

Down here in the west country the seeing has been superb. I believe the jetstream might be a bit further north than usual so you might be getting it while we are not. That can really affect the seeing quality.

• Like 1

My seeing has been pretty variable too, not anywhere near as food as John's sounds. I've had good views when it settles a bit but still a little frustrating and not supporting the highest powers.

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Stu said:

My seeing has been pretty variable too, not anywhere near as food as John's sounds. I've had good views when it settles a bit but still a little frustrating and not supporting the highest powers.

Likewise. My 'seeing' was good enough at 222X with just a slight amount of atmospheric wobble, but higher power was just not possible. I tried 317x and it was mush.

• Like 1

42 minutes ago, John said:

Down here in the west country the seeing has been superb. I believe the jetstream might be a bit further north than usual so you might be getting it while we are not. That can really affect the seeing quality.