Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help! I made a mistake and I am Desperately In Need!

I am new to a telescope and my scope was off at least half an in two directions. So, I loosened the center screw of the spider and the whole dang thing just dropped down, loose!!! It actually rotated down also. So, I reached in and held to mirror back up and tightened the screw slightly tight. Now, I look through the focuser and the spider is off center. The question I need answering ( that I can not find the answer on any video ) is when I look through the focuser without an eyepiece in, what should I see?  I'm thinking that I should see is the cross of the spider, my eyeball, and the ring of the primary center, all centered. Am I correct? Do you understand what I'm saying?  No matter what I try, all I can get centered is my eyeball and the primary ring, centered! I am lost and confuses as crap.  Please help!!

Hope your   main mirror didn't suffer any damage, or the secondary.
First lesson learned hopefully. Don't undo screws until you are familiar with
what their function is.
Collimation of a Newtonian can be a frustrating task, until one becomes very familiar
with the process, so practice the laid down routines until it becomes second nature to you,
and remember that once mastered, you can be sure that the telescope will deliver it's  best
performance, all other influences, such as good seeing, adequate cooling of the optics, and 
sturdy mount. The latter especially, if you are intending Imaging the Sky's wonders.
Good Luck to you.

The optical-system consists of only three components...

1. The primary mirror, and at the bottom of the optical-tube

2. The secondary mirror, and near the front of the tube

3. The focusser, specifically the drawtube which racks in and out

Both mirrors are adjustable, particularly the secondary-mirror assembly which includes the "spider"...

342374555_secondaryassembly5a.jpg.8eb089697d10f2fa5ea55a5510cbc0b5.jpg