NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

TV zoom 3-6mm Is it worth the money for what my little scope would be able to show?

Hello

im new to astronomy and to date have only been able to set up in my back garden. But I’m enjoying it. 

I have a Celestron 102 SLT, f6.5. I have spent some time looking at Saturn and had a few wow moments. I bought a second hand Baader Hyperion 24mm and both on its own and with a Barlow gives me a view of the planet (a little white circle) and Can clearly make out a clear ring around the planet though little else. Still, like I said, a wow moment. I want more though!

I bought a Vixen NPL 6mm and used this to try get in closer. Unfortunately I don’t seem to have much luck for what I think are the following reasons; it’s uncomfortable to use in sense that I have to stick my eye ball to it to see anything. That ‘anything’ tends to be a blur for the most part. Fixing on it and focusing before it disappears out of view is very difficult. I have a autofocus which helps a bit but it only seem seconds before it goes and I’m locked in a chase. I have a WO diagonal and coupled with a large eyepiece I have a few seconds wobble which also adds to the chase as starts to leave the eyepiece view before I can try focus again. It gets worse with the Barlow. So I revert back to the lower mags. Shame really. But I’m not giving up.

i know atmosphere plays a big part but what I think I have learnt is that I need a wider field of view and/or better optics.

so I was thinking about buying a new eyepiece. I have chance to buy a Televue zoom 3-6 for £240. It’s a lot of money to pay out and I don’t know if I’m expecting too much from my scope with it. An alternative would be to get an explore scientific 82 degrees perhaps the 6.6mm to use on its own and with a Barlow. A cheaper option that the second hand TV zoom but not much. 

Another option would be to again get the WO swan 72 degree 9mm and use this on its own and with a Barlow.