Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How to Improve Planets

Hi,

I'm not sure if help pls questions are meant to go in here, but I thought this would be a good place to catch the imagers with amazing photos that post here regularly. :) If this should be here, mods please move as needed. ;) 

So I've been having loads of fun this summer messing about with my new refractor, and OpticStar 90/800mm achro. I've used it primarily for planetary imaging and observing with my colour ASI-120. I'm really pleased with the results I've been getting so far in both visual and imaging, but as I'm really new to planetary I'm a bit of a noob. ;) 

I don't want to throw lots of money at this, as I have already spent too much (trademark) on a DSO imaging setup. Is there anything I can do or anything cheap I can buy that will help?

My standard method is:

Use 90S Gold frac with ASI 120 and 2x Barlow (on EQ5)

Connect to PC, run SharpCap.

Crop to smallest res. 

Capture at about 50-100fps, for 90sec.

Open in Registax, stack best 40%, use linked wavelets to get it nice and sharp. 

Try to remove disgusting colour.

My main gripe is the colour--it looks so horrible. However hard I try, Jupiter looks like it was in a bar fight earlier in the evening, with purple-brown banding. :D These are the photos I'm getting at the minute.

Mars, low elevation over bad seeing area. I was amazed I got the polar cap and a tiny hint of shading, but I want to redo this tomorrow morning.

mars1barlow.jpg.cf5186b1c129c71884b90cf3d26786ca.jpg

Jupiter, without and then with some Star Tools colour messing.

889102061_28_6_183.jpg.2a38658e24d868c1efcb02fe71488551.jpg

634075551_28_6_182.jpg.cf8a3641a68360c06d51fc9b6f9c2eec.jpg

Saturn, with no Barlow. I want to redo this one tomorrow.

sat1.jpg.2028a143de136c97c346d8e97da3cae9.jpg