Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best beginner software for imaging?

Zayvin

Hi all,

I am still very new to astronomy, but not to IT in general. I have put together a decent pile of kit to cover me from lunar, planetary and deep space imaging. I am however struggling with software selection! Please could you advise me on which capture, stacking, processing software is the best (in your opinion) at the moment?

I have SharpCap Pro which i will be using for polar align and i also have Photoshop as part of the photography subscription.

Any advice is much appreciated! 

Thanks,

Andy

I mostly imaging DSO.
Capturing: SGPro + PlateSolve2 -> framing, centering & start imaging less than 5min. No need star alignment...bla bla bla.
Stacking & processing: PixInsight + PS. I've read Astro Pixel Processor is a good software as well.

Ketut

You say you are starting out with AP. So, Sharpcap is an adequate program for capture - yes there are others that may do more, but walk before you run. Deep Sky Stacker (free downloads available!) will handle production of a basic stacked image ready to go into Photoshop. So, you have most of what you need and DSS is available free. No need to spend out your hard-earned dosh on software at this time.

What I would recommend you buy is a copy of this book - it will help you through what you will discover is a very steep learning curve.

If you are using a DSLR then you can use the propitiatory software - So for example Canon utilities works really well on the PC and you can control all that you need. The newer Canon's as well can do live view on the OC via this program, so you will have an easier time focusing :)

For DS stacking and calibrating, making master flats, bias and darks and initial cosmetic corrections (star and plane trail removal, hot pixel filtration, column removal etc) I use AstroArt. I find it incredibly fast, logical, transparent and reasonably priced.