SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Orion Nebula in Winter

RRT26

Hello again everyone.

Beginner here with following equipment:

Orion SkyScanner 100mm Reflector (New out of the box)
400mm Focal Length
f/4 Newtonian Dobsonian
Altazimuth tabletop mount until my VersaGo gets here

So, it snowed a lot today here in Georgia, the SouthEast US. Tonight I bundled up and went out to look through my scope at the Orion Nebula. I have seen it before but I was thinking with my new eyepiece, the Orion Expanse 6mm, I would be able to see it more clearly. I could see a little more definition in the nebula but not as clear as I expected with a better eyepiece. I have a UHC filter coming as I live around a good bit of streetlights and a 2x Barlow coming as well.

Do you think this will help in observing this sight better or do you think I should go to a much darker area with the filter and barlow as well? Thanks.

Its always worth getting away from light pollution. I would also take the filter and Barlow. Spend plenty of time allowing your eyes to get accustomed to the dark and then the view through the eyepiece.

The Orion expanse eyepiece will give you X66 without the Barlow which will be a nice view, worth trying the Barlow though to get a bit closer look at the Trapezium stars in the centre.

You will be amazed how much better everything looks once you get away from the light pollution. Filters help too, but, as they say, the best filter is the gasoline filter on your car. 

M42 nebula is a target for a variety of magnifications in a bigger scope, but on your scope I would suggest something around 8mm for a sweet spot (50x, 2mm exit pupil). 6mm is perhaps just  a tad more than I would use (eyepieces permitting).

Make sure you collimate your telescope properly as details might be blurred due to miscollimation.