Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The classical plossl has four glass elements in two groups. Usually each pair is symmetrical.

The "super" version has an additional single lens between the pairs - supposed to improve the performance.

I've been using TV plossls for the past twenty years - a good investment; they will outlast my eyes.

Just to add to the good information above, many plossls today have "Super Plossl" printed on them but are the standard 4 element in 2 groups design. Don't assume that just because the "Super" word is there that they have 5 elements or are in any way different to the standard plossl design.

There is a 12mm Super Plössl for £16.20  available on Astroboot?

Its not the 15mm you desire, but at that price who cares, but hey, I turned down Meade and TeleVue Plössls in favour of their GSO built Revelation Astro EP's.

Daniel3, you don't mention for which scope, that may have a bearing on which EP you could/should choose, but the dearer EPs  above produced no favours for me on my f/6 scope!

If you can afford TeleVue Plössl's, their there for the taking, some at reasonable prices second hand, if you check the right places, and loads of folk love them. I still think based on sales and feed back, TeleVue are one of the better brands out there, but you'll pay for the premium.
Ive tried them but on my scope, those  premium optics are  just not needed or essential to get great views.
Only issue I'm having with great views at present  is weather related!

To make things more complicated, there's another "definition" difference of plossl vs super plossl, in addition to mentioned by Merlin and John, as shown in these links:

https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p3957_TS-Optics-1-25--Ploessl-Eyepiece---10-mm-focal-length--50--apparent-field-of-view.html