SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Greetings,

Im new to the realms of astronomy and have just acquired my first telescope; an Orion Skyscanner 100m reflector. I've taken it out a few times using a childrens Ikea table as a mount and attempted some afocal photography using my Canon EOS 100D DSLR camera (without a great deal of success as can be expected!).

Though I have a keen interest in astrophotgraphy, Im settling for simply viewing at this stage, with a view to purchasing a good mount in the future perhaps. Currently, I could benefit from a mount that is going to offer me some reasonable stability over a flimsy table that isnt going to cost the earth.

Would an inexpensive EQ (such as the Orion EQ-1) be suitable or should I perhaps consider a simple camera tripod or Altazimuth? Any suggestions here would be welcome.

And if anyone has suggestions on achieving some basic astrophotgraphy with my prospective equipment in mind, Id like to hear from them. Or if its best avoided entirely (which I highly expect) then Id also like to know.

Thanks!

Nathan

If you happen to live in the central/east of Scotland (a slim chance) and could easily get to Dundee, I have a Celestron goto tripod and mount which is resting in the shed and needs a new owner with a small telescope...and it's free!

It's an alt-az head but with go-to would be useful for slightly longer exposures and will keep you on target. 

Also do you do the hand held afocal or with direct connection to the telescope? You might have to consider a barlow or t connection, but certainly connecting directly to the telescope is worth considering.

May I suggest you take a look at the gallery on the dundeeastro website and check out some images shot by Nathan Brookes (Skully) who uses his mobile hand held on through a 100mm tabletop 'scope and Ken Kennedy who uses a Canon 100d albeit on a eq5 set-up and larger 'scope.

I would add a few links but don't want to be too presumtuous.