Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi everyone, another newbie here!

pjcrystal

Hi all, another newbie here in need of a little assistance.

I would love to get into Astronomy but been a bit put off with all the different types of telescopes and equipment out there. I sort of understand the basics with reflectors and refractors and that they both have their advantages and disadvantages. But one telescope did catch my eye and that was the Europa 150 f5 De-Luxe, partly due to the great review (93/100%) it got from Sky at Night and becasue it's in my price budget too.

Would this be a good entry level telescope for a complete beginner?

Also, can anyone recommend any books that would be of great help to a novice? I would like to learn all about focal ratios, eyepieces, filters, pretty much everything involved with using a telescope to enjoy the night sky!

Thanks everyone.

Hello PJ

and a very warm welcome to SGL

I'm afraid i don't know about the scope you have mentioned , but if it got a good review in S@N then that should be a very good indication and a 150 mm is a good size to start with. what sort of mount does it come with and has it got go-to or similar built in . As for the books there are plenty on the market to get you started probably one of the best is Turn Left at Orion which was written specifically with the smaller scopes in mind and its a pretty good read too. I would also suggest a good star atlas, also download as a freebee Stellarium which is a cracking planetarium also Virtual Moon Atlas also free to download as for the rest just read the various posts , tutorials and primer's on the forum here and most importantly of all ask loads of questions that's what we are here for and there is absolutely no such thing as a stupid question so please ask anything you feel you don't know or understand . This place is full of great very clever people who love to share and teach so go for it and enjoy this superb family best wishes Pete

Hi PJ