NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Whole Set Up for astrophotography (high knowledge of photography)

Hi everyone!

I'm new to Astrophotography and would like-need some help with what equipment to get.

My idea is to be able to take "good" pictures of M42, M31, M27 and any close clusters or nebulaes (sorry, is that written right in english? unfortunately it's not my native language).

First of, This is what I've already on cameras and lenses:

• Canon 40D
  • Canon 450D
  • Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II
  • Canon 50mm f/1.0L
  • Canon 300mm f/2.8L IS
  • Several other lenses

I do have a Manfrotto 055 tripod which I used to take pics of the moon, eclipses, etc.

My budget for telescope + mount + "tripod" would be around 800EUR. I know it's not much but I don't want to overspend initially.

EDIT: And of course any adapter that would be a MUST or nice-to-have would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Hi and welcome.  You will receive good advice from this forum.  First of all can you tell us what it is you wish to image?  For example, the kit you already own can be put to use in wide field astrophotography with the addition of a decent mount, even a portable one.  The choice of targets you wish to image will dictate the types of equipment you need to invest in and also the budget you need to spend.  We look forward to hearing from you.  In the meantime you may also wish to consider purchasing the book: 'Making Every Photon Count' by Steve Richards.  It is available from FLO, the sponsors of this site, and other retailers.  That would be a good first investment.

3 minutes ago, Owmuchonomy said: