Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Coma, mirror issue or poor collimation ?

Hi all

I’m a total newbie just starting to learn about telescopes/imaging.

Last night I attempted to set up my Baader MPCC MKIII with the 130PDS. I tried a number of different spacer options with the T2 ring and compared the test images. Eventually I decided that 1.6mm spacing gave me the best results. However, even with the spacing as good as I could get it there seems to be star streaking around the corners and edges. The distribution of this (coma ?) isn’t even and it seems worse in the bottom corners, I also noticed the stars look a little bit triangular, which I remembered reading somewhere indicated maybe a mirror pinching issue ?

With this in mind I did a quick star test for collimation and it seems the scope is slightly out and in need of collimation (a scary task that I need to learn how to tackle !).

SO...... my question is this....

Do you think those stars around the edge are still showing coma or does it look more like poor collimation or a pinched mirror issue ? Or maybe I am just expecting too much ?

I’m hoping to try collimating the scope today or tomorrow using Astro Babys guide, fingers crossed that may help. I’m still pretty pleased with the MPCC, it's so much better than without, just a bit frustrating I can’t get it perfect to the edges !

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

130PDS + Baader MPCC + 1.6mm Spacers.jpg

Poor collimation shows up as coma but it will be worse at one edge/corner of the field than the others. If the collimation is fine then any residual coma should be similar in all corners.

You can try CCDWare's CCDInspector for free. 

Regards Andrew