NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

A virgin needs help

Morning all, I am a complete novice to this but have always been fascinated what's up there etc, I have a budget of roughly £300, what in your opinion is the best scope for me, I would like to see planets, and the moon-moons of others, don't think I will go down the photography route as bit complicated I would think, I have a SLR though, so one day maybe, also not sure if automatic is the way to go either.

thanks and I look forward to advice from all

Hello and welcome to SGL. The best £300 telescope is the Skywatcher Skyliner 200P . The mount is very simple to use, just place it on flat ground and your ready. no need for any alignment just point the telescope at the object you want to look at.

This video will give you an impression of the size and simplicity of the design. The 200P is slightly bigger than the reviewed 150P.

Welcome to SGL!

There is no one answer to your question.  There will be lots of advice, then you're going to have to take the plunge!

For a bit above your stated figure, there is:

https://www.harrisontelescopes.co.uk/acatalog/celestron-nexstar-127-slt-telescope.html#SID=42

Easy to use, very portable, shows planets, moons, clusters, even galaxies and nebulae (depending on conditions).  And the GoTo is a great feature for pointing you more or less right at the targets you seek.  (Only other thing to note: you'll need a decent power pack.)

Doug.