Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What can I see with a 10" reflector?

Hi, I am very new to astronomy and I would like to know if objects beyond our solar system such as galaxies, star clusters, nebulae, etc. can be seen with a 10" reflector (SkyQuest XT10) in or outside of a light polluted city (medium sized city)?

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL.

The sinple answer to your question is YES. Some objects outside the solar system can be seen with the naked eye. (Double cluster in perseus, M31 Galaxy in Andromeda - to name just two).

With a 10" scope, hundreds, maybe thousands will be visible.

Cheers

Ant

Hi Brandon,

Welcome to SGL. There are a few other Canadians on here - The Warthog may not be too far from you in Ontario.

It would be a good idea to buy a book called Turn Left at Orion. It details some of the finest deep sky objects that you'll be able to see, arranged by season when they are visible. In each case it shows you how to find them and what you should see through the eyepiece ie NOT the pretty pictures you may have seen that are taken with large telescopes.

With a 10" Dobsonian and 19 year old eyes, you will be able to see all the objects listed that are observable from your latitude. If light pollution is a big problem you could buy a filter or better drive out of town and view from the countryside.

Have fun.

Mike

hi brandon i'm 22 in the uk and have a 5 inch reflector and am more than happy with it, tracked down 4 planets, and bout 15 or so messiers.

seen galaxies, open clusters, globular clusters, and nebulae. with your scope mate i imagine the views would be amazing and even more things would be visible.

plus with that sized scope if you are having trouble with light pollution you can get an LP filter, to cut out any dodgy city emissions.

Hi Brandon,