Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

In the telescope market, need advice

Hello, I am just getting started in this hobby.  I am looking to purchase my first telescope but its a bit overwhelming with all of the choices available.  I just completed reading the book Nightwatch and learned a lot from it and got a better idea of what I may be after.  However I am still needing some input on making my first telescope purchase.

Here is a list that have interested me.  From seeing my list I'm clearly lost.  My goal is to see as much as possible in the sky.

http://skywatcherusa.com/dobsonians/sky-watcher-dobsonian-10-254-mm.html

http://skywatcherusa.com/dobsonians/sky-watcher-goto-collapsible-dobsonian-10-254-mm.html

http://www.meade.com/lightbridge-12-f-5-truss-tube-dobsonian.html

http://www.celestron.com/browse-shop/astronomy/optical-tubes/c6-a-xlt-(cg-5)-optical-tube-assembly 

http://www.celestron.com/browse-shop/astronomy/telescopes/omni-telescopes/omni-xlt-150-refractor-telescope

As long as you're not thinking of trying astrophotography, a Dobsonian reflector is probably your best option in terms of value for money, ease of use and all-round ability.

However, personally I would recommend a slightly smaller 8"/200mm version. 10" and 12" models are really quite big telescopes that can be difficult to move and set up. They are, in general, more sensitive to collimation (fine tuning the alignment of the mirrors). They will also, in general, be more demanding on eyepieces - which can equate to spending significantly more.

Meade, Skywatcher and Zhumell are all good brands to look out for.

Hi 3mm,

It looks like you are a visual observer from the scopes you listed. Let us know if you are astrophotography (as this will change the mount type that you need and likely the scope too)

For visual, ifyou want a scope that will last at least a couple of years then don't go smaller than 8" aperture.