NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New scope help please...any suggestions!

Hello:) my first post here!

I had a scope as s kid snd was really into astronomy. I'm 30 now snd have some spare money and time and would love it take it up again. No rush..I've been subscribing to Sky At Night magazine for 6 months now and bought a copy of Turn Left at Orion and using my dads binoculars.

The telescope will be kept in the loft conversion and I'll use it outside and at my local astronomy clubs nights out so very tight storage in the loft and a small space in the car for transporting.

I have about £600 to spend (I could maybe stretch to £700) and at my astronomy club I loved the look of the catrioptics - is that right? - like the skywatcher 127 mak I saw. This is because of storage and transport.

I'd like to see galaxies, nebulae especially and planets especially. Patrick Moore told me once to buy a reflector over 6" and I'd like to stick with that!

I've looked st second hand Nexstar 6 SE which is the other model I was taken with at the club and got a great review from one of the owners there who rated it.

Has anyone got any advice please or is there another scope I should be looking st?

Any help is much appreciated.

thanks Mark

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

They are a popular scope, one visit to a club and literally 80% of the scopes present were 5-6" Mak/SCT goto designs. There was 10 scopes there and 8 were as described, made it easy to work out the %. Being that popular they must fit and satisfy a nice part of the market.

The SCT option may be a little better, they simply tend to be f/10 whereas a Mak is often f/13.