Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

From Sadalsuud

David Levi

I didn't have much time out last night, with a early start this morning, but thought that I'd better make the effort with clear skies. With the weather in this country you never know when you'll get the opportunity to stargaze again and I hadn't been out since last Wednesday anyway. I tend to plan my next observing session on the days when it's cloudy. As a beginner I'm using Turn Left At Orion as my guide to objects to view. There's so much in that book that I'll probably be using it for ever especially as it's always a delight to return to the old favourites. 

Last night I was going to try to observe the globular cluster M2 and then get to the Helix and Saturn planetary nebulae but I got distracted. I managed the first part ok. M2 is rather in the middle of nowhere with regards to bright stars by which to find it, so after finding Sadalsuud in Aquarius in my finderscope I headed north, starhopping using my 25mm eyepiece and Stellarium as my comparison. My modus operandi for finding objects has grown to be that Stellarium is on my computer in the kitchen and I go into and out of the house remembering star configurations that I have seen in the eyepiece and compare them with configurations that are shown in Stellarium. I've got a good memory and it's a good mental exercise as well. In the end the gobular cluster M2 was not that hard to find but I'm going to have to revisit it when I'm a bit more relaxed to appreciate it a bit better. What was upsetting me was my neighbour's, yes you've guessed it, security light. My blood pressure was up a bit as a consequence and I couldn't enjoy the experience as I would have liked to. M2 wasn't as spectacular as the great globular cluster M13 in Hercules but was pretty impressive. I didn't really notice any distinct stars just a general quite bright haze of light. I pushed the magnification up to 166x and it still looked really good.