NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Edge HD 8 - First Light

Hi guys. So I finally decided to retire my SkyWatcher and upgraded to an Edge HD scope. 

I've been battling with that decision for many many months, trying to decide what to get, going back and forth, whether I should get a refractor, or an SCT etc. 

After all that time, and probably a hundred new gray hairs on the head, I decided to get an Edge HD SCT telescope. 

My reasons:

- Light and compact

- AVX Mount is incredibly portable

- Relatively large aperture

- Pretty good all-rounder

- Good for both visual and imaging sessions

- With it's longish focal length it will complement a small refractor used for wide-field photography very nicely

- Fast and easy to setup, align and use

Now, I imagine everyone will have their own list of priorities. Mine was like that because I have to move the scope to a dark site each time, I can't afford to have hunreds of equpment pieces and most importantly I wanted to avoid the massive logistics operation that a similar scope of other design forced me to undertake each time. The Edge HD ticked all those important for me features pretty nicely. 

Right. So I ordered one from FLO, even though it said delivery in 2-4 days, the scope arrived the next day - not surprising though, hats down to our friends at FLO. 

After the scope arrived I was very happy to see the size of two boxes it came with. This confirmed what I hoped for - compact and light. 

I quickly unboxed it and leafed through the manuals to get everything setup and learn all the procedures. The scope itself is very beautiful, well finished and has some healthy weight to it.

Surprisingly, I didn't have to wait for clear skies at all - I packed the scope, got into my car just a few hours later and went out to loiter on a nearby's friendly farmer's field ( after harvest so no crops have been damaged :) ).