Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Telescope for total newbie

:wave:

i have always had a fascination in space and have finally decided to invest in a telescope, for me and my young daughters. The problem is i have very limited knowledge of telescopes and was wondering if anyone if anyone could recommend a suitable telescope with a budget of up to £1000 and would spending less or more would give me better value considering i am a total novice. Thanks for any advice

Phil

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Phil,

welcome to SGL. I'm a relative newbie myself so not going to give you any advise on which scope to buy with that budget, but you will definitely be able to get a nice piece of kit with that.

I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will be along with some good advise before too long.

FF

Hi Phil

Welcome to SGL. Unless you're stinking rich and £1000 doesn't mean much to you, I'd hold back for a while before committing yourself. Amateur astronomers are a friendly bunch and are often keen to introduce others to the pleasures of the hobby. My advice would be to look through other peoples' scopes first and make sure it really grabs you. Local astronomy clubs are great for meeting folk and they will often run meetings where newcomers will be welcome to come along for a nosey at the kit. Whereabouts do you live; someone might be able to suggest a local society.

The other thing is that there are lots of different telescope types, on different types of mount, some being simple and others more complex. Each have their plusses and minuses, not all of which can be fully appreciated by reading or getting others' advice.

I hope that helps, Martin

To help narrow down your choices, we need a bit more information. Answers to the following would help:-

1. Are mostly interested in our solar system i.e. the Moon and planets or are you more interested in more distant objects like galaxies and nebulae?