SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

DSLR wont focus with lens removed

juleznz

KiaOra everyone im sure you would have covered this topic before but here goes

So i have a celestron astromaster 130 EQ MD I purchased a barlow ,T2 adpapter ring etc for my Nikon D3300

I attach it camera gives me the you have no lens attached msg and so then i tried live view nothing

Cant find anything on world wide web about this that is helpful anyway

Please help any tips ideas methods gratefully considered

Thanks

Julie-Ann

Following on from Louise, there is/may be 2 manual modes:- one for the lens, usually a switch on the side of the camera where the lens attaches and there is the mode of operation dial on the top (left usually) of the camera. You may need both set to manual.

On mine, not a Nikon, there is also a switch somewhere for the live view itself.

When you say nothing on live view do you mean it is dead, doing nothing, or is it on but the image of the sky is featureless and so uniform across it all? Only ask as when you attach the camera the focus will be way off and there will be no focussed image on the sensor and so no "image" fed back to the live view to be seen - it will look "blank". If this then easiest I can think of is attach camera etc and then shine a torch across the front to the scope while you look at the live view. It should brighten if it is operatiing.

The other option could be the worst, no recognised lens = no live view.

Hi,

As Louis noted, you have not said which make/model of DSLR you are using.

I have Nikon D90, Canon 700D and 70D. I also have a Celestron 130 reflector (f5, 650mm). (actually, I have two, the EQ and the SLT). I also used an Olympus eOS 450 at one time.

I can't remember that I did anything in particular with the DSLRs to use on the telescopes - I just remove the sense, attach the T2, nosepiece and Barlow, and it's fine.