Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

UGC 10822, Sharpless 91 and The Draco Triplet

Helix

Hi all,

Clear skies and few days off. This is what I was waiting for a while. I spend two enjoyable nights observing and in between I had a privilege to hear Matt Taylor's (ESA's top scientist) brilliant talk on Rosetta mission. Thanks to @Cjg for organising this event.

As some of you may know I am still learning to observe with the new aperture (20") and very short focal length (3.5). My main scope used to be 10" dob and I had many enjoyable nights with it seeing faintest possible stuff. Now it is time to readjust eyes, find favourite eyepieces and to confirm or  not :) previous observations with 10"

Some of my comparisons lately proved that 10" is an amazing aperture and 20" even better:

UGC 10822: Dwarf spheroidal galaxy in Draco. Angular size (arcmin):  37.15 x 23.98 according to Simbad. Low surface brightness (?). 

10" : observed 3/5/2014. Possible to spot location of the g-xy only by slight brightness difference between background and the galaxy itself. Nearly invisible oval shape. Intense, focused observation required to spot it and see the "borders" of the g-xy. Structure: none, except some stars in the field of the galaxy.

20": observed 1/5/16, seeing 6/10, transparency 5/10, humid over 80%, same location: distant street lights. Shadow like elongated ~1/2* spot. Featureless, just some bright stars visually in the field of the galaxy itself. Confident observation. I think with this galaxy only Hubble can help :)

Sh2-91: "Shadow of the Veil" nebula. Supernova remnant in Cygnus. The brightest part is located 15' south from Φ Cygni. I was intrigued by Gerry's report on this one and kept it in mind till now.   

Date: 30/4/16, 
NELM 6.5
MPSAS: 21.73
Transparency and seeing: 7/10
Filter: OIII Lumicon
EP: 13 Ethos