Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Sun(AR2506) in white light - 29 Feb 2016

geoflewis

Hi everyone,

I'm new to SGL and also new to solar imaging having only gotten into it during Feb 2016. I'm using a TSAPO100Q with a home made Baader film filter, Baader double stack continuum filter and ZWO ASI120MM-S mono video camera. Today I took a run at the nice AR2506 (centre of disc), also using a TeleVue x3 Barlow + 60mm ext tube pushing the barlow to an effective ~x4.25. Data was processed in ImagesPlus software and PS-CS2. I thought that I'd mess around colouring it, so the attached image shows both B/W & yellow versions. What do you all think please - leave it B/W, or is either ok? Seeing was not great, shooting through a lot of fast moving haze, so glad to get anything...

Cheers, Geof

AR2506_29Feb2016_1230ut_gdbl_BW+Y(for SGL).jpg

Looks like a fine image to me, some nice detail in the Penumbra and on the surface generally. As for the colour, its personal preference mostly. Colour can sometimes enhance some detail, but I don't usually bother, that said I think we all used to seeing the sun Yellow/Orange :icon_biggrin:

Hi Pete,

Thanks for the feedback. The image came out a lot better than I expected. I was experimenting with the extension tube to the x3 barlow just to see what magnification it would give, but the raw AVi didn't look at all promising - just shows that you need to do the processing to really find out..!! Yes, I like to see a yellow Sun and have seen others do similar colourisation, but actually I like the B/W versions too, so not sure which way I'll go in future - maybe a bit of both...

Cheers, Geof

Hi Craig, yep I'm sure that colour blindlness brings its own challenges. I also realise that colouring the data is totally subjective, hence the main reason for my question.... thanks for the feedback. Geof