Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Xp Replacement

phattanglo

I have an Asus eee pc1001px netbook which to be honest I forgot I had. it has Stellarium, Registax  and Collimate03 ? installed

For telescope maintenance, Polar aligning and the little bit of wecam imaging I do It's quite sufficient.

Regarding XP I am obviously concerned about the security aspect and have considered  installing a newer version of Windows.

But then I wondered if I could install a Linux system to do the same job.

I am absolutely not a techie but any advice would be appreciated.

Sharpcap is as far as I'm aware Windows only and its next version will not be supporting XP. I Would seriously consider upgrading to Windows 10

I am sure there is imaging software in Linux but I have no personal experience of them. I'm sure others of greater experience will provide more detailed information.

A clean install of Win7 would probably run faster than an older version of XP, old installations collect garbage that slows the whole system down. Trouble might be finding a version of Win7 to buy since it was discontinued (but still supported). I wouldn't touch Win10 with a barge-pole.

ChrisH

If you want to install addition software you can always download it on one of your other "Internet-Safe" computers, and transfer it using a memory stick.

Keep copies of the XP installation files should you ever need to re-install and the XP version is no longer available on-line.

Still on XP for the observatory operations, but eventually I will obtain some item that won't run on XP I guess.

Indoors it's W7 64 bit for stacking etc.

Michael

If you want to install addition software you can always download it on one of your other "Internet-Safe" computers, and transfer it using a memory stick.

Keep copies of the XP installation files should you ever need to re-install and the XP version is no longer available on-line.