Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New Telescope for beginner

Hi,

I am a complete beginner, but I have been reading seriously for a few  weeks. I am 74 years old and, at present, not in the best of health but I hope to improve.

I would like to buy a telescope/mount combination to allow mw to extend my lifetime photography hobby to astrophotography. I plan to use my Nikon D3200 for this.

I have looked at telescopes and the following look interesting:

Skywatcher Explorer 200PSD HEQ5 Pro Newtonian telescope.  and the

Skywatcher Explorer 250PSD EQ6 Pro Newtonian Telescope.

Would either or both of these fit my requirements?

Arte there any disadvantages for the type of photography I have described, or for any other reason?

What alternative kit would you think would be better for me?

Would the fixed screen on the Nikon D3200 be a problem?

Thanks for all replies

Jack

For imaging (photography) you do not need a large aperture instrument - at least to start with. A small refractor of good optical quality (an 80mm apochromat) is more suitable for the majority of celestial targets. What is important is having a good quality mount which is able to accurately track the stars as they appear to move across the sky. This is no easy task and the accuracy demands are very high indeed.

ChrisH

Hi,

I am a complete beginner, but I have been reading seriously for a few  weeks. I am 74 years old and, at present, not in the best of health but I hope to improve.

I would like to buy a telescope/mount combination to allow mw to extend my lifetime photography hobby to astrophotography. I plan to use my Nikon D3200 for this.

I have looked at telescopes and the following look interesting:

Skywatcher Explorer 200PSD HEQ5 Pro Newtonian telescope.  and the

Skywatcher Explorer 250PSD EQ6 Pro Newtonian Telescope.

Would either or both of these fit my requirements?

Arte there any disadvantages for the type of photography I have described, or for any other reason?