Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is my mount dead ?

AlistairW

Hello,

I have had my HEQ5 pro for about 2 months now, and It has been working great until now. Today I plugged it in and the red light on the mount stayed firmly off. I have always run this from the mains via a baader power supply. (12V/5A/60W). The green light on the power supply remains on  when "not" connected - but when I do connect and turn the mount on the green light on the power supply flashes. I also tried powering on via the 12V cigarette connection, but again the red light on the mount did not go on. My initial instinct would be to contact the shop I bought if from, but I have done a belt mod, so I am concerned it will void my warrantee. Any idea on where I can start on looking in to this, as I am no electrician.

Thanks

Alistair

Are there any fuses? Sounds like maybe the fuse is blown between power supply and mount. If you have a voltmeter you can check the voltage on the power supply but I think its probably ok. Might be a tiny poly fuse on one of the circuit boards but I'm not familiar with that mount.

Griz

it's a good point. I put a voltmeter against the output of the supply and there is 12 V coming out, so I don't think it is the supply. However the cable that comes with the mount has a angled connector which you can connect with reverse polarity - which is a possibility, as my 2 year old did pull it out the other day, and I simply reattached. However I have no idea what a polarity reversal would do to the board, or whether there is a fuse.

Can't you undo the belt mod and send it in after that? It's not an unusual mod. The mount seems to be made for this kind of upgrade.

The modification is not likely the cause of your problem. Something electrical seems to have gone wrong. Maybe you should first try to find out what your power supply is trying to tell you by flashing its green light.

Keep us up to date.