Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi all

kencidj

Hi.

Have a question :-)

I have an amateur telescope bresser venus 76/700.

Is it good for astrophotography, or should I buy something new?

Want to take pictures of nebulae and stars, but with this one..I cant even focus with my Nikon d80 with t2 ring...when looking at the moon.

I think you are going to find it very difficult to get any satisfying deep sky images from this scope.

I dont now whether it would focus with a webcam though, if it would you possibly image the moon or one of the brighter planets. That said because of the mount it is on this also not going to be easy.

Hi and Welcome to SGL!

I am no expert, but I guess you could get some photos of the moon with that scope - if you can't get focus, you may need some sort of extension tube in the focusser to ensure there is enough travel in it to reach focus. You could try getting some moon shots just holding the camera up to the eyepiece to get some moon pics.

But if you want to get into astrophotography in more depth you are going to need a tracking mount of some description as you will need to be able to take long exposures and counteract the earth's rotation, otherwise the stars in your images will blur and stretch. 

You can always start with some widefield star shots with your camera on a normal tripod - you can get shots up to around 20-25 seconds with a wide lens.

Pop over to First Light Optics and have a look for "Making Every Photon Count" which is a great introduction to what you need to get into astrophotography.

It's a hell of a journey, but very rewarding.

Good luck!

Welcome to the expensive yet rewarding world of Astrophotography!