Beginner £350 budget, which scope to consider?

Hi everyone, taken some time to happen but finally about to take the plunge and take ownership of a telescope, originally a few years ago I was settled on the Celestron 130SLT Nexstar as I like the idea of being able to quickly move around and learn the sky. The 130 appears to have been around for a while now so should I consider any other scopes around the £350 mark? Thanks!

As a complete novice I'm not in any sort of position to advise on different scopes but have you considered second hand equipment? I've been shopping around a bit recently and all the second hand kit I saw was either bought, tried once and then stored or else well used but well cared for.

Most of the kit I was looking at was close to half of the brand new cost so I managed to stretch my budget (not too dissimilar to yours) quite far and you might find you can get better equipment than you first thought. If you're ok with second hand of course.

I agree that there are some terrific bargains to be had on the 2nd hand market. Just make sure you know what you're looking at or you have someone who knows their apples to do it for you :).

Hi smuudge how you doing?........I have the Celestron 127EQ on a GEM mount and a 200P Skyliner  on a Dobsonian mount.

I can operate both successfully, but wholeheartedly recommend you invest in a Dobsonian mounted telescope like the Skywatcher Skyliner 200P. ( There are other 8" / 200P telescopes on the market ) Its a whole box of headache pills less of a problem with  the setting-up and  use  throughout your viewing session if you just want to look around the skies at some deep sky objects like  other Galaxies, or the Planets like Jupiter. The 200P can see these targets, but ensure you have good seeing conditions, little or no light pollution(  If you have a car, this may not be a problem as you can drive to darker sites, and the 200P will fit easily inside say a Ford Focus sized car)