Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Focusing on Celestron NexStar 6SE

Hi everyone! 

I'm pretty new to this hobby and I'd like to ask the experts before I freak out. So I just got this scope as a Christmas gift and I really love it, but I'm a bit concerned of having a mechanical issue. I'm having a really hard time bringing an object into focus regardless if it's a tree or the moon. I get to the point where it's almost clear but still blurry enough to make it unpleasant to watch :shocked: . As much as I try to rotate the focusing knob as slow as possible I can't get a perfect focus. So far I have only the stock eyepiece (24mm) and diagonal and I know that it's not the best glass but I wasn't expecting such a bad experience... What should I check? Is there any "calibration" type of a thing that I have to do and I'm not aware of? :huh:  Any idea is much appreciated!

Thank you!!!

I had the 6SE and I did find that its a lot of turns to get focus. I now have thje 9.25SCT and it is the same when first setting up, or when changing to a DSLR.

If you do a daylight check then you need an object at a good distance away otherwise too close and it is difficult to focus. The supplied ep I found to be OK.

The Moon should not be a problem. Are you getting dewed up? SCT are known as dew magnets...I bought both a dew sheild and heater strap for mine.

The 6E is normally a very good performer.

Hi bgd.

As you say 'unpleasant to watch' this suggests the image might be moving around as though you are looking at it underwater? If so, are you using the scope indoors and looking through a window? If so, thermal currents will make the image move around and drift in and out of focus.

If you get the moon in view while outside you should be able to reach crisp focus while slowly turning the focuser, but you may have to turn it a lot.

And as already stated, check the objective lens and your eyepiece for dew.

Let us know how you get on.