NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Collimation.... Spot on.... It does really matter !

If you are observing with a reflector, your collimation should be as close to perfect as you can get it ( in my opinion )... I have been observing for many years before I realized the IMPORTANCE of GOOD COLLIMATION...  On a night of observing several years ago, I decided to collimate my Dob, after tweaking collimation for a few minutes ( on Polaris )..... I turned the scope to some star fields in and around PUPPIS and.... WHOAH..... The stars appeared 3 dimensional. and I realized @ that moment that there is a very different image when you get collimation right, I know that some beginners are hesitant to adjust there optics, however, the reward for precise collimation is awesome, so take a few minutes, and do a star test, It is well worth it.... Just my opinion...

Mark

post-15801-0-62718900-1415868461.jpg

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First of all, that's a great photo you got there. Second, while my wife encourages me to engage in the hobby, she is a person "that loves astronomy" so she won't join me, so kudos on finding a partner who has common interests.

As for collimation - you either do it and you get razor sharp images to complement the light gathering of a large Dob / Newt or you don't and are stuck with mediocre views, bloated stars, views with coma that looks like seagull droppings (and it gets progressively worse after that).

Indeed many people are hesitant to touch the optics, but a few hours invested in reading material freely available on the internet, asking questions in various forums and then actually *gasp* playing with the optics of your telescope is an investment worthwhile...

I agree that having the scope in as good collimation as you can is an important part of getting good results from it.