NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New Forest Observatory planning and Sketchup.

BRAMLEYD

Hi All,

So I've been planning my ROR observatory in the New Forest for a few months now and have been picking up loads of good tips from here on the way. So now as I am further forward in my thinking I think It is time to give a little back in the form of my sketchup design and to canvass a bit of feedback and advice.

Firstly my design for a 14' x 8'  Observatory can be found be found here:

http://dombramley.com/astro/ObservatoryMk2.0.3.skp

There are quite a lot of layers to play about with and the telescope and pier are (hopefully) to correct scale. The Pergola is to the west where I have a bad horizon obscured by large trees. My best view is towards the East.

The design has picked up a fair bit of detail along the way - primarily as I have had to wait ages to get Planning Permission. Living in a conservation area my permitted development rights were removed when the previous owner built an extension. All a bit of a pain in the rear really. Especially as a tree protection officer has got involved and mandated a no-dig design -  So my  pier base wont be as depp as on the design.

Still all granted now - though I'm probably gonig to wait until the weather starts improving before puring any concrete.

The observatory will house (initially at least)  a William Optics FLT132 on an NEQ6 used primarily if not exclusively for imaging.

Couple of things in particular I'd be interested to hear opinions on are;

1) How high have you piers been? Standard size specified by Pier manufacturers appears to be 42". But I reckon once height of floor and walls is taken into account 52" sounds more likely for a longish refractor.