Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Wide eyepiece to help finding my way around?

So apologies for another newb question but here goes.

As some of you may have noticed, I'm quite new at observing and have yet to find a Deep Space Object. One of the difficulties I can't quite overcome is matching what I see visually, translating that to my binoculars, then reversing it for my finder scope, and then getting into the field of view of my main scope.

I've working through a few solutions to help with those things (a right angle finder, working harder on matching what I see visually with what I see through the kit so I can move from star to start more confidently etc)

I was wondering what y'all thought of having a very wide eyepiece to help, perhaps a 32mm or even a 40mm. My thinking is that this would get me a field of view much closer to my binoculars and help me locate fuzzies.

What think yous?

A wide-field EP will certainly help, although the 25mm that comes with your scope already has a fairly wide field (30x magnification, 1.67 deg FOV, roughly). A right-angle correct-image (RACI) finder may actually help a lot more. I mounted a BIG one on my scope, and since then my DSO count has sky-rocketed.

I have not used a RACI, but have a Telrad so go with either there both good, get if you don't have it Stellarium its a free download, it does have the Telrad circles so looking at a star map and then spotting the same thing in the sky makes learning your way around very easy there also a full list of messier dso's with the Telrad circles just google "Telrad maps".......

http://www.stellarium.org/en_GB/

Moonshine132435......Hi, I purchased the 32mm Panaview just to get a bigger view of M31 Andromeda, because I couldn't fit M31 into the 25mm supplied EP  FOV when viewed from a dark site . The 32mm  gives some stunning views on my scope with my eyes.

Overcoming the use of the equipment would be the cheaper option, practice makes perfect.