Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

A few questions on basics

Hi everyone

I have been observing for a few years,  using scopes from ST80 to 300mm Dob, from my suburban backyard. I am curious about a couple of things:

1. I don't seem to get much more detail in say the orion nebula, or much more resolving into stars of the hercules cluster, whichever size aperture i am using, which goes against everything I read.

2. I have recently obtained some nice 15x70 Helios Apollo bins, and it's been cloudy for weeks, but have managed to get a quick look at jupiter, and the disk of the planet seems as large to my eye as it does in my scope at more like 90x magnification!  Optical illusion?

I also wondered, my neighbours annoyingly tend to leave upstairs lights on all night long, anyone ever tried erecting some sort of curtain, like a beach windbreak? just to preserve a bit of night vision? are there such things you can buy?

Clear skies everyone, I have 1 hour clear sky forecast tonight, if I'm lucky!

Dave

1) Could be the set up of the scope. An achro will not be that sharp, the wavelength are focused at different positions and so the prime image is a little spread out. The consequence being not as sharp.

Reflectors are built to collect light, the secondary and the spiders again drop the contrast, they also have to be collimated pretty well.

Probably the best is through a good apo refractor, but they are costly.

Have read of one person who replaced the secondary and was amazed at the improvement, they reckoned that they just had a bad one, but 1 item can upset the system.

How good are the eyepieces ?

A 300mm reflector is likely to be fast (f/4.5?) so could need £250 eyepieces and a coma corrector.

The eye works as much or more on contrast then brightness so you lose things in a non-sharp low contrast image.