Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Oh what a night.....

Caz

.....and early hours, I have excitement bursting from every orifice, well veins.... :lol:

It was a clear night alright, the moon was washing out most of the fainter stars, but that didn't stop me spotting nearly all of the targets.... :( :( I have to say, I've worked harder because of the moon, but efforts have paid off.

There was hardly any atmospheric interference, well I'm no expert on this, but viewing was really steady, even with my 10mm ep with x2 barlow, it was quite still.... :(

Anyway onto my observations:

Orion's Head - 8.20pm onwards, ep used, 10mm x 2 barlow

Lambda Orionis - very easy to spot, clear view of double star, blue in colour.

Phi 1 - Single star, blue white in colour.

Phi 2 - Another single star, colouration seemed more yellow, not sure on this, perhaps someone could confirm that for me?

Auriga - 8.55 onwards Atmosphere steady, ep used 10mm & 25mm

Theta - I spotted this star, but couldn't make out a double?

M37 - Took a little time to find, but got there eventually, I've had trouble spotting this one in the past, chuffed I found it this time :(

Spotted M36, and 35...... :lol:

So nearly a clear run with those..... :(

I could find Leo, but thats as far as it went, really struggled to find M66 & 65, identified Regulus. Couldn't even see Leo Minor, moon far too bright..... :(

Canis Major - 11.25 Still very clear and still

Spotted M47, its another one I've been struggling to find, so thats a bonus, wasn't even on my targets list. Used 25mm ep.

Gemini - 11.35

Very close to the moon at this point, but I decided to have a go at spotting M35, and yet again another success.... :(

Arcturus, its the first time I've seen this star, and what a sparkler it is too, it has a Ruddy orange colour, couldn't use scope on it, trees causing me probs..... :(