SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which Lunt solarscope?

I am in the market for a Ha solar telescope and am looking at the Lunt 60mm.Lots of options available,but not sure which to go for.B600 or B1200 filter,single vs double stacked Etalon and pressure tuned or tilt?I will be using this for visual-at least for now.I have almost ruled out nightime astro photo due to the weather,so this may also rule out solar imaging as well.Any comments/experiences appreciated.

I have no experience but I've read that the Lunt 60mm is a real joy to use. In most reviews I've read, it seems that although the Lunt 35mm and Coronado 40mm are cracking entry level Ha solar scopes, if one can save up longer or is willing to part with more cash, the 60mm scope makes quite a significant difference.

The way I've come to understand this difference is that for a seasoned observer the 35mm ought to give 'wow' moments but may leave a casual observer a little 'flat' whereas the 60mm will give even the most hardened and cynical soul a gasp of wonder. Here's a nice review series on many things solar that might be handy.

I have no experience but I've read that the Lunt 60mm is a real joy to use. In most reviews I've read, it seems that although the Lunt 35mm and Coronado 40mm are cracking entry level Ha solar scopes, if one can save up longer or is willing to part with more cash, the 60mm scope makes quite a significant difference.

The way I've come to understand this difference is that for a seasoned observer the 35mm ought to give 'wow' moments but may leave a casual observer a little 'flat' whereas the 60mm will give even the most hardened and cynical soul a gasp of wonder. Here's a nice review series on many things solar that might be handy.

That is exactly how I'd put it. I'm a provider so I need to cater for beginners as well as diehards and felt that the entry level Ha scopes might not quite 'wow' the beginners.