Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Where to start?

Hi all

I am a total novice seeking help. After reading articles here I have purchased a second hand pair of 10x50 binos. My first objective is to learn the night sky. Where oh where do I start?? :-)

Sent from my OMNIA7 using Tapatalk

For a PC try stellarium, its a free sky map or for an Android phone / tablet try Google sky or an App called Skeye.. both free. Also if you search the forum there's a binocular sky newsletter published monthly around somewhere.

Or... Turn left at orion is a book that's well thought of, but its not free

Enjoy your bins :-)

The Plough and Casseiopia.

These are always visible so are good to be able to locate.

Pointers point "up" tp Polaris and so the little plough, and point down to Leo (not visible really at present).

The handle of the Plough if you follow the arc round goes splat into a big orange star called Arcturus, which is the main star in Bootes.

Realised the other day that the top 2 stars in the pan of the plough if extended "Right" bump into a bright star Capella, constellation Auriga.

The middle star of the handle of the plough is Mizar, aim binoculars at it and you will see it as a double.

So find the plough and there is something to occupy you for a night or two, and with the number of clear nights we have that's a month gone.

When Orion appears the belt stars point "right" to Taurus (Aldebaren - another bright orange star) and then The Pleiades.

The belt Stars point "left" to Sirius (brightest star in our sky) which is the main star in Canis Major.

Casseiopia is not easy to explain in words how to find things from it.

If you look up as in crick your neck looking up you will see 3 bright stars fairly well spaced apart - called the summer triangle.