Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Fixed Mesu 200 first light - an old favourite

jackrussell0232

Well I think I was the first gig on Lucas Mesu's UK tour.  He was doing a round robin to see the UK customers who'd been unfortunate enough to get mounts with a dodgy batch of RA motor/encoders.

It was really nice to get to chat about the mount with the designer.  He was clearly frustrated with the situation, but still just as enthusiastic about the merits of his design, and logic would certainly support this type of friction drive.

He was keen to explain that there will always be some level of 'ripple' on the PE, as the pin/rollers can never be completely perfect, but I took a couple of tracking plots first, and the was an obvious step change in performance from the old RA motor.   It's early days, but it certainly looks promising.  The only ripple I can see has an amplitude just under 0.5 arcsecs in 20s (42s full pin rotation period).

I'm new to off axis guiding, and still tweaking settings in PHD, plus the seeing wasn't great last night and there was a gusty wind.  In spite of this, I got a half decent shot of NGC891.

post-24538-0-88912900-1380470746_thumb.j

This is a sum of 10x15 min Atik 460 unbinned Lum subs, at about 1150mm (RC8 + CCDT67 at just under max spacing).  Lodestar OAG'd with 2s guide subs via PHD.

I know the stars aren't ultra round, and I have some field tilt/curve, but it's not a bad start.  Happy to see PGC9101 in the lower left, first time I've caught this in any kind of detail.

Shame I'm going away over the new moon - doh!

More soon,

Jack

Hi Jack           just seen your post, can you please tell me what was wrong with the RA motor/encoders? I have a mesu 200 too, mine seems to track ok,  sometimes better than others, I found that the ra has to be balanced quite well to get good tracking

Nice image!...   Regards Rick

Rick,

If it appears to track ok then you needn't worry.