NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

DSLR vs CCD for beginner on DSO

jetstream

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Gerry

Looking at your equipment list, it looks like you only have an alt-az mount? If this is correct, that is going to be the major limitation on what you can achieve.

I'm no expert, but I would say go for the DSLR initially. It has a larger fov and will probably be more intuitive to use. You will be able to get some nice 'wider' shots (eg M81/82, or the galaxy fields in Com/Vir) which are probably more suited to the shorter exposure times you will be able to achieve. Remember the actual size of the object's image will be the same on a DSLR as a smaller CCD chip, which will only appear bigger because of the smaller fov.

HTH

Gerry

Looking at your equipment list, it looks like you only have an alt-az mount? If this is correct, that is going to be the major limitation on what you can achieve.

I'm no expert, but I would say go for the DSLR initially. It has a larger fov and will probably be more intuitive to use. You will be able to get some nice 'wider' shots (eg M81/82, or the galaxy fields in Com/Vir) which are probably more suited to the shorter exposure times you will be able to achieve. Remember the actual size of the object's image will be the same on a DSLR as a smaller CCD chip, which will only appear bigger because of the smaller fov.

HTH