NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Matching a CCD to your scope

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There's no law that you have to :) One might I guess say that you might get better results if the camera is chosen with the scope in mind, but equally it has to suit your pocket and there may be other factors too.

I take it this is for DSO imaging?

James

The SPC900 is an exceptional camera for what some of us paid for it. Given a scope of 3m focal length it's never going to make a DSO camera however.

To be honest, perhaps the scope is where you should start. I've no experience of your scope, but 3m is a huge focal length to be using for DSO imaging. At random I've picked the Rosette Nebula for an example. It's 1.3 degrees across. To fit that on a camera with your scope you'd need at least a four-panel mosiac even with a full-frame sensor. And exposure times will be massive. Not to mention the difficulty of guiding at that focal length. Even with a reducer it's going to be very tricky, I reckon.

Perhaps it would be sensible to consider a different scope for DSO imaging first?

James

Yes, I woud never entertain trying to use a Meade mount for DS imaging, espeicially the 12 inch with its immense focal length. I tried going into DS imaging with a 10 inch LX200. I spent quite a bit and got nowhere at all. I would strongly advise a rethink.

If you aim for about 2 arcseconds per pixel you'll be in the sweet spot but, to be honest, I've used all sorts of sampling rates and you can get good results when way off the ideal. If you have a very long FL and small pixels you just bin them 2x2 to gain speed withut losing real resolution.

Olly

http://ollypenrice.smugmug.com/Other/Best-of-Les-Granges/22435624_WLMPTM#!i=2277139556&k=FGgG233

If you are looking at imaging DSO's you can do much worse than spending £20 in the book section of the FLO website and getting a copy of 'Making Every Photon Count' - A brilliant read and will help you no end.