Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Colour or mono CCD?

Bizibilder

I may shortly have amassed enough pennies to get a CCD camera and will probably go for something like an Atik 314L - but the question is mono or colour? I don't get a huge amount of imaging time (clouds permitting) and wondered what are the main advantages/disadvantages of each. I don't really want to have to spend an extra few hundred pounds more on filters and a filterwheel if the colour camera will do more or less the same job. I know this is an often repeated question but I would still like some advice please.

(My current DSO imaging is done with either an ED80 or ED120 with flatteners/reducers and a modded Canon 1000D).

I think the general consensus is mono and OSC are pretty comparable - but I'm no expert. For me the choice is mono, because I like the ability to do NB and also image when the moon is out (which always seems to result in perfect clear skies)

I vote for mono - much more flexibility as you can do narrowband. I think the idea that a colour camera is faster and easier than mono is a misconception. The mono will be much more sensitive and gather the data much quicker in comparison to the colour camera.

I guess the ability to do away with filters and FWs can simplify the acquisition of data and there are no issues of adjusting focus between filters (assuming your not using a parfocal set) .

The sensitivity of mono cameras together with binning should, theoretically mean its just as quick to work with mono, its a tough call for sure.

I'm quite happy going for a single target in one evening - maybe 3-5 hours of data - at the moment the cost of filters and wheel just seems to be excessive if the OSC will do all I want it to. Thanks for the replies so far.

Does NB appeal to you? If not OSC will be what you want IMO. Alternatively a manual FW and cheap filters can help.

I wish I had saved enough pennies by now (although I have no idea which CCD I will go for)