Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Highest Practical Power

Hi All

I am wondering how to get my telescope to its highest practical power of x254, as i am new to all this im also wondering is it worth it?

my telescope is a Skywatcher 127, (http://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/skymax-127-synscan-az-goto-telescope_d3193.html) theres the link to exactly what im using.

Any help a equipment tips would be helpful i dont really understand what i would get if i got it to its highest practical power

Regards

Chris

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

254x magnification is quite a lot for a scope of that size. Although the general rule of thumb is 2x for every millimetre of aperture, this is a best case scenario only.

I have a 127mm refractor and the most I generally use is 127x (with a 5mm Celestron X-Cel LX eyepiece). To use more, you need a combination of a very steady sky and a reliable mount that doesn't wobble when ever you move or adjust the scope.

In addition, most deep sky objects do not need that level of magnification.

You can calculate magnification by dividing the focal length of your scope by the focal length of the eyepiece you are using. Eg a 1000mm FL scope with a 25mm eyepiece will give 1000 / 25 or 40x magnification.

Seeing conditions play a big part aswell, its rare for me to be able to push my 200p much past 150x/180x (and I live in a pretty dark part of the country with hardly any lp) even tho it has the potential for 400x, in this country the seeing is naff to say the least.

Steve

Btw, I rarely feel the need to go past 100x unless for lunar or planetary & then i will push it, but as iv said usually no more than 180x