Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher 250px Planatery setup problems

Hi all

I am new to this great hobby star gazing, but I am not sure what my set up should be and what I can expect to see with my Telescope , below is what I have got to work with.

Skywatcher Skyliner 250PX 10 inch parabolic Dobsonian , a super 10 long eye Relief ,a super 25 wide angle long eye Relief which came with the scope , plus i have a 2X barlow attachment that is it up to now.

I have seen great views the Moon and I beleive Jupiter small but I can just make out some rings and 4 Moons which are just very bright spots.

I feel I should be getting a better view of Jupiter with the scope I have ,and at the moment I will have No chance of seeing Saturn ,big question is with the scope I have will I be able to see Saturn or a better view of Jupiter ???

Can anybody help with any advise on my expectations and if things could be improved what I will need to purchase, I must say I am hooked and want to see more.

Any help and advise will be appreciated.

regards

roly50

Make sure your scope is collimated so that you know it's working at its best. Pick a good night with clear sky and dry air if possible as moisture in the air will affect the quality of the image. Use the 10mm eyepiece to begin with (you might want to consider buying better quality eyepieces at some point). If you have everything set up right Jupiter will still be small but you should be able to make out the cloud bands clearly.

I've only just got a 10" dob myself and am very much looking forward to seeing Saturn through it, can't wait...