Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Heavy duty alt AZ mount.

Sirius Bizness

I have a SW 120ED that I would like to use as a grab and go set up at home i.e. walk out back door. I now have my HEQ5 tripod and a 16" extension pillar but don't know what mount to go for.

FLO only sell the Skytee 2 which looks fairly heavy and I have not read great things about the dovetail clamps. I am wondering what other options are available? The simple giro styles seem to be discontinued although there are a few from TS but I don't know if the are any good.

Any ideas of what my options are would be appreciated.

Thanks

I believe you can upgrade the dovetail saddles on the Skytee II, FLO sell the adm vixen style saddles but they are an extra £60 each. The mount itself has good capacity, and should hold the sw120ed well. TS still do the ercole version of the Giro mount I think? I'd have thought the Porta II would really be pushed with that scope, but as I have no experience with it I could be wrong.

I faced a similar decsion recently, with a view to better mounting for my long refractors (upgrading from a non-driven EQ5). In the end I went to for the AZ-EQ6 GT, because I wanted to have the capability for ap later. I can confirm that it is indeed one big heavy hunk of metal!

If they AZ eq6 is anything like the Eq6 then that's way too heavy for what I am after. I don't think the Porta II can handle the 120ed as it says 6.8kg max and the 120ed is 6kg not including finder, diagonal, EP, etc. Might be pushing it.

I may just try the Skytee 2

Skytee 2 with upgraded saddles would be fine for your 120ed. I've got a longer refractor of a similar weight on mine and it works well. TeleOptic, Berlebach and AOK Swiss do similar mounts, and I would imagine the finish on any of those is a cut above the Skytee.

Slightly off topic but do you have to use the counter weight bar or can it be balanced without it?