Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Best Budget Web Cam For Planetary Photos

Evening, I just recently pulled out my SkyScout 90 refractor, after it being in storage for 2years, and am getting back into it all again. I understand that with a 90mm refractor, I probably won't be pulling any prize-winning images out of the hat, but am looking to start off with planetary imaging. Have been looking at modding (or co-ercing the electrical engineer boyfriend into modding..) a web cam for such a use. I am just wondering what sort of web cam would be best suited for my scope, with an absolute ceiling budget of £50. I don't mind buying second hand, just wanna get the model right.

Also, I have recently bought a canon 350 D (for auroral shots), and am curious about how effective the camera could be, when teaming up with my scope for nebulae and such.

Any insight and advice would be great!!

Many Thanks

Nat

I'm no expert. I've just started out myself. I have the canon 450d unmodded. But I've taken some good images of the Orion nebula and even got the running man nebula! So I should think the 350 should be able to handle it. As to web cams, I don't have a clue.

Adam

I have seen a lot of mentions of the SPC900, but alas none on amazon. I'll check out the possibility of an xbox cam. Also, what would your thoughts be on a combination of a canon 350 d and my 90mm scope? I'm thinking about getting the skywatcher EQ2 motor driven mount, but unsure of the compatability of it with my current scope..

Cheers

I'm no expert. I've just started out myself. I have the canon 450d unmodded. But I've taken some good images of the Orion nebula and even got the running man nebula! So I should think the 350 should be able to handle it. As to web cams, I don't have a clue.

Adam

Thanks, you have restored my faith in my picking a good camera. I mainly wanted it for my aurora watching holiday, but also possibly DSO's, although with a equatorial driven mount.